The First Work Week(end) of 2011

January 9, 2011

 

At the end of my first week back at work for the new year, I wasn’t sure how much energy I’ve had for drawing/sketching. I had to forego a Sydney Sketching Club meetup today. What with two Chinese terracotta warriors yesterday, today’s efforts are A Shell in my collection, A Baby inspired by the very subtle greys of the swaddling clothes and A Garbage Can at brunch.

Shell: I wanted the contrast between the lustrous inner and the rough outer but couldn’t get it; coloured paper inspired by the stupendous work of Christian Tribastone of Washington.

 

Baby: couldn’t get the subtle flesh tones in the face right.

Garbage can: this week’s Flickr Urban Sketchers theme is Trash Cans, so I thought I’d secrete a garbage bin in to all of my lunchtime sketches this week, rather than have them centre-stage as the sole visual focus. However, today’s presented itself at Sole Espresso Newtown (King Street Newtown NSW 2042 Australia) courtesy of Marrickville Council. Sole: Sustainable Organic Local Ethical. Pencil sketch on-site with pastel pencil treatment back at home.

References

http://tribbie.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

