Darrell Lea chocolate shop, King Street, Sydney

October 20, 2012

Today is the last day of Anti-Poverty week and I couldn’t help noticing that Myer has put flowerpots outside its Market Street entrance to foil beggars and the homeless.

I camped next to the street posting boxes in King Street for an hour to sketch the Darrell Lea chocolate shop. The building remains, but administrators have installed a convenience shop selling soft-drink and crisps. Shortly after I started sketching, a police car drew up beside me and I thought they might move on. Realising I was out of harm’s way (Saturday morning is not like mid-week), they didn’t move me on.

There is no sky at all visible in this 60min sketch:

Drawing cars as they pulled up at the lights seemed not to fit, but cyclists did the trick – a subconscious reference perhaps to the fallout from the Lance Armstrong business this week.

Leave a Reply

