Daily Painting Challenge, January 2015, Day 11

January 11, 2015

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

oil on canvas panel, 6×6″

Today’s orange and ceramic teapot comes close to Arthur Stern’s project involving two pears on either side of a ceramic coffee mug, so technically I’m still working the general area of the Arthur Stern projects, my goal for this month of January.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was surprised by the beautiful effects created by the coloured sheets of cardboard (in my case, painted with acrylic) since I was caught short preparing in the Christmas-New Year break when most shops were shut. The variegation caused by painting the cartridge paper worries me less than anticipated since there are relatively few colour spots to worry about in the painting timeframes.

I still lack the discipline to do an entire 1st Statement, followed by an entire 2nd Statement and so on.

Today’s perspectival errors were disappointing. What can I say? Today’s emphasised gesture over structure! I made the teapot in a former life as a studio potter ( it’s marred by a glaze drip not shown in the painting and hence never sold) and I’m sure I’ll paint it again.

No acrylic under-painting. Minimal under-drawing today and even that was so ‘corrected’ in the over-painting, I almost needn’t have bothered, though of course it’s good to get one’s eye in.

I would have liked less “dabby” strokes in the teapot to reinforce the aerial perspective/ One needs to exaggerate the a.p. when objects are so strongly placed in front of one another like this.

Colour-wise, I notice how much Arthur Stern gets his readers to work across the entire colour range. Today I took a rest from the bright primaries.

I’ve never painted a 6×6″ panel before since the square format is a tough one compositionally. Including two objects was a stretch target and insufficient measuring meant I squeezed onto the canvas what would have otherwise been a perfectly good landscape format done on an 8×10″.

By rights, I ought to paint another statement in a week or so, scraping back the painting. I’m not overly happy about appearing to be reveling in a Ben Quilty-like technique. Probably completely unknown to any of you overseas, Ben Quilty is a local hot-shot.

Thirty Paintings in Thirty Days, January 2015, organised by Leslie Saeta (http://lesliesaeta.blogspot.com.au).

Reference: Stern, Arthur. How to see color and paint it: a series of projects designed to open your eyes to colors you never saw before. New York, Watson-Guptill, 1984.

2 Responses to “Daily Painting Challenge, January 2015, Day 11”

  1. Ron Vilim Says:

    mmmm…the texture.


Leave a Reply

