Daily Painting Challenge, January 2015, Day 26

January 30, 2015

 

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prickly Pear

oil on canvas panel, 6×6″

 

Ordinarily a horticultural pest, Prickly Pear fruit only comes my way every few years. I’ve drawn them in the past; I love their subtle greens and purples. It’s been so long since I last saw them, I’ve forgotten how to eat them and what they taste like. I did make a terrible mistake today however: I arranged them on a white plate with my bare hands. Having done so, I picked up microscopic spines all over my fingers. Today’s was thus painted on tenterhooks, a painful jab at every inopportune moment. The fruit would have been “unreadable” as Prickly Pear without the final dots.

 

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My painting ‘pace’ is improving, but still a bit rocky and wayward: either the colour is right and the tone is wrong, or vice-versa. The natural light changed significantly during the two hours: the most in any of my daily paintings this month.

 

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It felt strange to pick up a brush for the underpainting, today done in complementary opposites but in more than few colour spots.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I thought I’d photograph my palette, for no particular reason, except that there’s too little paint to create colour palette samples on canvaspaper and I’m a long way from recording colour samples as I work, which is something of a lost opportunity. Normally I’d clean the entire palette twice during the session, but today I got away with a (messy) once.

 

Leave a Reply

